Hello, New York!

nyplshelvesthumbnail.jpgnyplexterior1thumbnail.jpgSo I was in New York for a couple of days and wandered into this wonderful branch of the NYPL in the East Village. Very old-fashioned shelving on two stories with cloudy glass (!) floors on the second level, presumably to let light in. Though it’s tiny, there were computers in the front, all in use, computers in the children’s room upstairs, also all in use, books in many different languages, and all in all a lively, warm, feel. How nice that it’s modern without being modernized. The exterior is a warm red color.

I also, naturally had to say hello to Patience and Fortitude while I was there.

And I finally got up to Barnard to visit their zine collection and fire lots of reference questions at Jenna, who was working the desk that day. Too bad the pictures didn’t come out better, but I only had my cell phone with me.

nypllion.jpgzines1.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

