40 years, 31 hours, 28 minutes

mlk.jpg

There’s a moving recounting of the last hours of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. in Memphis magazine. The night before he was shot, he said “Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I have seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we as a people will get to the promised land . . .”

We can still hope.

photo from the National Archives

Leave a Reply

