I’m it, again

Sandra Ruttan has tagged me in another meme. I’m supposed to post the rules at the beginning and tag some other people. Nah, the meme stops here. But I’ll answer the questions.

What were you doing ten years ago?

1998? Huh, I was beginning to write my first mystery, On Edge. We were living in a tiny FEMA trailer at the time, because a tornado had come through town, clobbered some 500 homes and the college where I work, and did some serious damage to the old firehouse that we live in (luckily, not irreparable, but we were in the trailer until October). Writing was a good outlet.

What are five things on your to-do list for today (not in any particular order)?

Feel guilty about finishing my next mystery, which is terribly overdue. That’s always at the top of my to-do list. (Feeling guilty, that is. Not finishing it.) Figure out the message I got last week about our library’s link-resolver, SFX, which scares me. (What if I break it?) Mark some papers so I can turn in grades before I leave town. Get prepared the meeting with Sujay about the first term seminars tomorrow. And think about the librarians’ retreat on Tuesday.

What are some snacks you enjoy?

Snacks!? I’m to busy for snacks! Well, actually – I love Greek olives and good bread and really stinky cheese.

What would you do if you were a billionaire?

Get rid of all that money so I wouldn’t be a stinkin’ billionaire.

What are five places where you have lived?

Madison, Wisconsin. Lexington, Kentucky. Austin, Texas. Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. Bourmerdes, Algeria. Camden, Maine.

What are five jobs you have had?

Babysitter, taco shop employee, person who ran the slide projector for art history classes, “casual laborer” for the university art gallery (I liked that job title and tried my best to live up to it), student worker in the music library. Those were while I was in college. I’m apparently the only crime fiction writer in the world who has never been a bartender, even though my nickname at 4MA is “barfly.” (It’s a long story . . .)

What were the last five books you read?

You can always see that at my LibraryThing catalog. I would feed my recent reads here using their cool widget, but WordPress doesn’t allow it.

What are five web sites you visit daily (in no particular order)?

Boing Boing, Sivacracy, The Rap Sheet, ACRLog, and Auntie Beeb.

I tag . . . nobody! You all owe me big time.

Leave a Reply

