What I’ve Been Up To

Time to blow the dust off this blog, if only to indicate that yes, I am still alive. I just have been posting my thoughts mostly to other places lately.  Here’s a sampling:

Book reviews at Reviewing the Evidence and my Scandinavian Crime Fiction blog (though I have a towering stack of books awaiting reviewing equal to this list)

I interviewed David Weinerger for Library Journal.

I wrote a short feature about the Elsevier boycott for American Libraries.

I wrote a longer piece about the open access movement for Library IssuesAnd another thing for an issue of Anthropologies on Occupy and Open Access.

I’ve been writing weekly for Inside Higher Ed, under the header “Library Babel Fish.” IHE is a great place to mouth off about things. The commenting community there is unusually civil and smart. I also write once a month or so for Library Journal’s Peer to Peer Review. I had been doing it weekly, but writing two columns weekly used up all my ideas and then some.

So this is a lousy excuse for a blog post, but I was feeling both bad about neglecting it and unable to think of anything new to say.

Oh, I am working on some fiction, too, but writing very s l o w l y.  I did get a short story (first one I’ve ever attempted) in Writes of Spring edited by two of the best book people in the world, Pat and Gary of Once Upon a Crime.  They had a lovely party to celebrate the anthology and their store’s anniversary.

So that’s what I’ve been doing in my free time. I’ll be back to blow the dust off again one of these days.

photo courtesy of tavarua

 

 

4 Responses to What I’ve Been Up To

  1. Maxine says:

    Nice to read all this news. I very much like your book reviews.

  2. kathy d. says:

    We’re glad to hear you’re alive and well — and so incredibly productive. Me, I’m just spending the summer in this heat-infested city reading global crime books while enjoying a/c and iced tea — and following blogs.

  3. Barbara says:

    Thanks, Maxine and Kathy. I began to feel guilty about anyone who had this blog in an RSS feed or blog roll. That, and about all the books I have yet to review. I am in awe of reviewers who keep them flowing (cough, Maxine, cough).

  4. kathy d. says:

    I don’t know how Maxine, Bernadette, Kerrie, Sarah and others keep those reviews coming. I am in awe. It’s a job for me to keep on reading when there are so many wonderful blog posts and comments to read. Whenever I find another good blog — found the author from Oz, Angela Savage’s blog the other night and read for hours. What a treat!
    I get up every day and check blogs. What an incentive.

Leave a Reply

