I wrote to my senators . . .

Here’s what I said. It’s not enough. But, damn it all.

I am writing to my senators on behalf of millions of people who live in daily fear of state-sanctioned terror. They cannot send their children outdoors without warning them to be subservient to authority, to be wary of agents of the state, without reminding them that they do not have the freedom other Americans have to life or liberty or the pursuit of happiness. This is a violation of basic rights that urgently needs to be addressed. Our elected officials should investigate and take steps to prevent the all-too-frequent extrajudicial executions of black Americans by police.

I realize it may be impossible to pass laws or hold hearings in a Congress that has been deliberately broken. I mean, if we can’t even appropriate money to protect Americans from deadly viruses it’s pretty silly of me to think we can investigate ways to protect a mere 45 million Americans from living with fear every day that they or a loved one will be executed without a judge or jury. But I urge you to try.

This can’t go on.

It can’t go on because it polarizes the population and tarnishes the reputation of the nation worldwide. It can’t go on because law enforcement officers who want to serve and protect cannot do so when fellow cops commit the ultimate crime and aren’t punished, making a large percentage of the population understandably unable to trust the police.

It can’t go on because people – men, women, children – are being murdered under cover of law. Please do what you can to seek justice and peace.

Yours truly,

Barbara Fister

Edited to add: another black person was shot and killed yesterday, this time in my own state. He cooked meals for schoolchildren. He had been stopped in his car because a taillight didn’t work. He was loved. Now he’s dead. It can’t go on. But it does, on and and and on …

2 Responses to I wrote to my senators . . .

  1. Good for you! I’m skeptical of it’s good effect, but we can hope.

  2. Barbara says:

    Me too, but at least Al Franken acknowledged it in a press release (nothing to do with me I’m sure, but in response to the latest killing) by saying “It is our job as lawmakers to help address and dismantle the systemic racial inequalities that lead to far too many of these deaths.” Yes, it is their job.

    We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

