Sisters in Crime Book Bloggers Challenge

I am somewhat loath to issue a reading challenge, given that one of the greatest pleasures of reading is choosing books you just feel like reading without being told what to read. But this challenge includes a lot of latitude for crime fiction fans, so I hope it will let you indulge in an activity enjoyed by avid readers: that of grabbing people by the virtual elbow and saying “have you read this book? It’s sooooo good!”

Given that Sisters in Crime is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year at Bouchercon, it seems a good time to blog about women’s contributions to crime fiction.

Easy challenge: write a blog post about a work of crime fiction by a woman author; list five more women authors who you recommend.

Moderate challenge: write five blog posts about works of crime fiction by women authors. For each, mention another woman author who writes in a similar vein.

Expert challenge: write ten blog posts about works of crime fiction by women authors. For each, mention three similar women authors whose works you would recommend.

Deadline: whenever. Another one of the joys of reading for pleasure is not having deadlines. Also, feel free to recycle previous reviews. I’m all about recycling.

If you tag your posts with “SinC25” I will compile them.  And if you tweet, use the hashtag #SinC25.

You can do it!

If you aren’t familiar with Sisters in Crime, it’s a non-profit organization with the mission to “promote the professional development and the advancement of women crime writers to achieve equality in the industry.” It was founded on the heels of a talk Sara Paretsky gave at the first conference on women in detective fiction held at Hunter College in March 1986. It now has 3,000 or so members worldwide and is welcoming to anyone who enjoys a good mystery. For writers in particular, both published and not yet published, it offers some terrific opportunities for friendship and professional development. (Full disclosure: I’ve been a member for many years and am currently serving on the board.)

By the way, this image is based on the famous “Rosie the Riveter” poster in the National Archives. Feel free to reuse my Rosie the Reader variation.

Guess I’ll dive in the deep end and sign up for the Expert Challenge. Stay tuned ….

32 Responses to Sisters in Crime Book Bloggers Challenge

  1. Check out my blog: http://www.auntiemwrites.wordpress.com. Every week I blog on crime authors and their books, some of whom are sure to be new to you! This week’s blog features UK author Alison Bruce, whose Gary Goodhew series is set in Cambridge. I’m a member of SinC myself, and hoping to start a northeastern NC chapter shortly, so if anyone out there lives near Greenville, NC, come to our organizational meeting on Sept. 18th at 2:15 at the Sheppard Memorial Library. Fans and readers welcome!!

  2. My first book “from the big library” as opposed to the school one was THE SECRET GARDEN by Frances H. Burnett.

    It led me, in turn, to FIVE CHILDREN AND IT by E. Nesbit.

    Both were mysteries.

    Sin c25

  3. Thanks! I also have been enjoying Aline Templeton, recommended by Louise Penny, a favorite herself~

  4. My publisher Severn House pointed me to your blog and your challenge. I’m a published crime writer of currently eight novels, six in the DI Andy Horton marine mystery crime series (police procedurals) with number seven coming out next year and I also run two blogs as well as having a web site blog, and I tweet. So guess I’ve got to take up your challenge! I’ve got some favourite female authors, and a collection of their novels, many from the Golden Age of Crime so plenty to chose from. Now all I have to decide is which level to go for…

    Can I reuse your content for my blogs?

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    I’d be happy to participate. Thanks for the challenge.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    Thanks, Barbara. I will talk about Karen Fossum’s Black Seconds this week.

  7. Barbara says:

    An excellent link for my Scandinavian blog. (I was planning to write about Fossum, too, though still working out which book to highlight.)

  8. Maxine says:

    I’ve been away so have only just seen this post. I really should do this, and will do if I have time.

  9. Marni Graff says:

    Really enjoy the Fossum series; will try Jo Nesbo next.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    I think Jo Nesbo is a he.

  11. Craig says:

    Great challenge Barbara. I’m a bit ‘challenged-out’ lately, but I think I might make an exception for one. There’s several good and great Kiwi women crime writers I can highlight, along with several other female authors I’ve got to meet or interview in the past couple of years (Tess Gerritsen, Kathy Reichs, Val McDermid, PD James etc)… so I have plenty of ammo to choose from :-)

  12. I accept the challenge, and started a new blog devoted to my passion for mystery, writing, reading, and the combination of all.
    Posted my first article, the easy challenge, at:
    http://catherinealmeten.typepad.com/the_games_afoot/
    SinC25

  13. […] completed the Sisters in Crime book bloggers’ easy challenge, I am now about to embark on the: Moderate challenge: write five blog posts about works of crime […]

  14. […] completed the Sisters in Crime book bloggers’ easy challenge, I am now embarking on the next step, the: Moderate challenge: write five blog posts about works of […]

  15. […] completed the Sisters in Crime book bloggers’ easy challenge, I am now embarking on the next step, the: Moderate challenge: write five blog posts about works of […]

  16. […] at Barbara Fister’s blog, you can find details of the Sisters in Crime Book Bloggers Challenge, which celebrates 25 years of Sisters in Crime and the wealth of quality crime fiction written by […]

  17. crimepieces says:

    I’ve just started blogging but have nearly met your ‘easy’ challenge with my Shona MacLean review. Will go for moderate – great idea about linking the blog post to another woman writer.

  18. […] completed the Sisters in Crime book bloggers’ easy challenge, I am now embarking on the next step, the: Moderate challenge: write five blog posts about works of […]

  19. […] get the chance I want to compile a list of my favourites. Something I came across recently is the Sisters in Crime Book Bloggers Challenge which aims to promote the contribution of women to crime fiction. Looking at my recent book […]

  20. Sarah says:

    I’ve just completed the easy challenge and very enjoyable it was too. Looking forward to completing the moderate challenge.
    http://crimepieces.wordpress.com/

  21. Kelly Saderholm says:

    If its not too late to join in the challenge, I’d like to jump in. Here is my first blog post, talking about five women authors: http://thehauntedauthor.blogspot.com/2011/10/book-reviews-gentle-ghosts.html

  22. […] completed the Sisters in Crime book bloggers’ easy challenge, I am now embarking on the next step, the: Moderate challenge: write five blog posts about works of […]

Leave a comment